4-year BSc (Honors) Program introduced by Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi | NITTE

4-year BSc (Honors) Program introduced by Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi

The National Education Policy 2020 recommends all degree programs in the country to be of 3 – 4 year duration, with a preference for a 4-year multidisciplinary bachelor’s program with multiple exit options. In accordance with the NEP 2020, the Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Belagavi has introduced a 4-year BSc (Honors) program in 32 Engineering Colleges in Karnataka from the academic year 2021-22. One of the fundamental principles of NEP 2020 is outstanding research as a corequisite for outstanding education and development. Engineering colleges with well-established laboratory facilities along with well-qualified faculty have been considered to offer this unique program. NMAM Institute of Technology, Nitte has been selected by VTU to offer this multi-disciplinary 4 year BSc (Hons) program.

The program is designed to offer Bachelor of Science - BSc (Honors) in Science subjects of Physics, Chemistry & Mathematics with focus on research. In the 3rd year, the students opt for a specialization (major) in Physics / Chemistry / Mathematics. The third and fourth year of the program deals with Research Projects and Research Internships, so that students adapt to the rapidly changing employment landscape.

The program being multi-disciplinary in nature, students will also study skill based & industry-required topics from Engineering Science subjects such as Electrical, Mechanical, Civil, Electronics & Computer Science along with emerging fields like Artificial Intelligence (AI), Internet of Things (IoT), Robotics, Machine Learning, Cyber Security and Data Science.

Eligibility: Students who have passed Class 12 examination with Physics, Mathematics and Chemistry as compulsory subjects along with Biotechnology / Biology / Electronics / Computer Science as elective subject and English as one of the languages, are eligible to pursue this program.

The admission to the program will be through KCET. All CET rank holders of Karnataka are eligible to opt for this program. The annual fee fixed by VTU is Rs.60,000/- per annum. Unfilled seats after KEA allotment will be reverted to the college for filling up.

Career opportunities: Science has a stream of opportunities with immense prospects of higher education and employment in a variety of fields. BSc graduates have a wide range of choices available in terms of subjects, fields, topics to look for in their postgraduate level degree programs. B.Sc (Hons) graduates are highly valued professionals in various areas of the industry. They are employed in Educational Institutions, Space Research Institutes, Research Firms, Testing Laboratories, Forensic Crime Research, Geological Survey Departments, Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology Industry, Healthcare Organizations, Chemical Industry, Environmental Management & Conservation, Wastewater Plants and Petrochemicals Industry, to name a few.

By: Mrs. Sayi Prasanna Hegde
Deputy Director (Admin)
Nitte (DU)